Non-Crazy | iStock | Getty Images
It prohibits evictions for non-payment of rent in most residential properties between September 4 and December 31.
You will have to certify on a declaration form that you expected to earn less than $ 99,000 per year in 2020 (for couples, less than $ 198,000), received a stimulus check, or did not have to pay income tax in 2019.
You will also need to confirm that you have tried to get government housing assistance available, that you are unable to pay rent due to a “substantial loss of household income”, an upgrade. foot or extraordinary medical expenses, this being evicted would require you to double down with others or become homeless and you agree to make partial payments to the best of your ability.
It does not appear that documentation will be required.
If tenants meet the above conditions, they will be required to sign a declaration form and return it to its owner. You should try to deliver the form to your landlord in person. Make sure you keep a copy for yourself.
“If a tenant cannot pay the rent, they should provide the statement to their landlord as soon as possible,” said Emily Benfer, eviction expert and visiting professor of law at Wake Forest University.
If your landlord ignores the ban after you give them the statement, seek legal help immediately.
Sometimes the documents you receive with your court date contain contact information for legal services in your area. If not, you should be able to find your agency online, said Alexis Erkert, lawyer in the legal services of Southeast Louisiana.
“The court may also be able to give contact information to people,” Erkert said.
You can find free or low-cost eviction legal help in your state at Lawhelp.org.
The CDC prohibits “any action aimed at effecting an eviction for non-payment of rent,” Benfer said.
Therefore, if you are about to be evicted for this reason, you should now be able to stay in your home until the end of the year.
About 10 states have eviction protections that are even more comprehensive than those of the CDC, Benfer said.
National action doesn’t change your local laws, Benfer said. These are still in place.
For example, while the CDC’s moratorium does not prevent homeowners from charging late fees, this practice is prohibited in New York. CDC policy doesn’t prevent homeowners from reporting your non-payment to credit rating companies, but a Connecticut statewide rule does.
You can find out what local policies apply to you on the Eviction Lab website.
Focqus, LLC | iStock | Getty Images
Yes. The CDC order does not release you from your obligation to pay rent.
You want to do your best to pay your bills during the Covid-19 pandemic to avoid getting into debt and being kicked out in January.
TO Justshelter.org, you can find community resources for people who are having difficulty paying their rent.
Some states and cities have funds allocated to help people stay in their homes. Arizona earmarked $ 5 million For this purpose. Delaware residents can apply up to $ 1,500 in rental assistance. Similar relief measures have been made available to people in Montana, Ohio, Iowa and new York.
Find and ask for any help available in your area.
Meanwhile, many landlords are showing a willingness to work with tenants who ask for payment plans, experts say.
At that point, your landlord will likely ask you to pay any overdue rent. If you don’t, you risk deportation.